Final Fantasy I: Part 1

Now, here’s what I thought up for a gaming post. It’ll be a Let’s Play, but in blog format with screenshots of instead of video. My “witty” comments will be posted after each picture, and I’ll really only be taking pictures of semi-important screens. I’ll be going for as long as about well, until I get bored for each part so expect the posts to be in different length each time. As with everything I do, be careful of spoilers.

My first one of these will be Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney (the title is reversed in the blog title so it’ll be easier to put the sequels up). So let’s do this. As you can probably tell the this post isn’t about Phoenix Wright, but it’s instead Final Fantasy I. Why? Well… I started to write the other post, but I noticed my screens were a bit off, when I went into Final Fantasy I had a better idea about how many screens I wanted, so this should be a lot better than my crap first post. Anyways, that post will maybe come out, but I need to redo the screens so that’ll be in a while.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_01 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_02

Alright, to be perfectly honest, I’ve never really finished Final Fantasy all the way. I’ve played it before but I’ve never really finished it. As such, I know a bit of what to expect and what to do, but after a certain point I’ll be flying blind.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_03 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_06

I’m playing the remake on the Gameboy Advance. Which is awesome, because I’ve played the original NES version, and I had to stop after a while just because of how old the entire game seemed. Anyways, I auto named everyone, so we have our great team of Leo the Warrior, Baku the Thief, Luca the White Mage, and Kory the Red Mage. I debated if I should replace the Thief with a monk, but thought not, I enjoy ninjas.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_07 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_08

Man, there really is a giant Seinfeld Is Unfunny (trope!) feeling going on.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_09 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_10

This all just seems so cliched.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_11 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_12

Though I guess Final Fantasy wasn’t even the trope codifier for this the Chosen One (trope!) or many other tropes used. It’s still feels like Final Fantasy was one of the first RPGs to really bring forward these concepts to my mind.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_13 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_14

Though the complete lack of back story to how these people became chosen ones shows just how old the game is. In a modern RPG you have to start from a characters birth, unlike the older games where they throw you in with nothing.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_15 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_16

Like this. Well, where in ground that I’ve already played, so let’s just go to town first and buy some equipment. Oddly enough, when I first entered there was a guard blocking the exit. Having never seen that before, I talked to the guard only to be teleported to the castle to see the king.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_17  Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_19

Yup, though I don’t know how they can tell we’re warriors of “Light”. Though that may just be the relation between light and good, so they mean the warriors of “Good.”

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_20 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_21

Er- We kind of have to save the world.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_22 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_23

Yes, yes, but- You know… the world?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_24 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_25

Ah, blackmail. I see. I guess we’ll be heading north first to save Sarah.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_26 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_27

Yeah… at level one, all we can really do is fail.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_28 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_29

So, after some short level grinding let’s head up north and save the princess!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_30 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_31

Stats are all looking quite good. New equipment is also quite shiny.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_32 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_33

Mages have their magic. To be honest, I’ve always found the concept of buying magic a little bit weird. Though in this case, it’s probably just buying books or staves that’ll teach the magic.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_34 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_35

Hrm. I’ve started like a dozen games, but I’ve never really known what this place was for. Is that bad?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_36 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_37

To be fair, I’ve never finished one of those dozen games. Hopefully, I’ll finish this one.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_38 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_39

Ah, here we go. The monsters in here are quite a bit higher level, so I think I’ll grind a bit before attack Garland.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_40 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_41

Lame.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_42 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_43

The king still has his wife and a second daughter. Logically I don’t think he’s going to give his entire kingdom for a single girl, even if it is his daughter. Heck, it’s not even his son, I don’t understand why Garland or the king thinks she’s worth that much. In a logical medieval society, no one would have batted their eye, that much.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_44 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_45

There’s four of us and one of you. No matter how strong you are, you shouldn’t be this cocky. Heck, I bet he even cracked his neck before attacking us.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_46 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_47

That was a short battle.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_48 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_49

Money. Equipment. That’s all I really want.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_50 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_51

Yes, yes, we are your loyal slaves. Just let us get back to saving the world.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_52 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_53

Yes, we are. Oh god, you’re going to say the prophe-

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_54 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_55

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_56 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_57

Oh, okay. Good!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_58 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_59

Is this legal?

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_60 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_61

Yes, yes. You can thank us by letting us into the treasure house!

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_62 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_63

Dammit. I’ll go see the elf king. Also wow. They build quick.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_64 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_65

Hrm. Not quite high enough level for me.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_66 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_68

Better. Still, I’ll do some more after I cros-

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_69 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_67

Oh. Okay.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_71 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_72

Blah. Blah. Blah.

Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_73 Final Fantasy I & II - Dawn of Souls_74

Oh, a title screen? That seems like a good place to stop for now.

Well, we’re crossing the bridge next time, in the mean while I think I might level grind a bit.

Leave a Reply

