Solo DnD – Tyranny of Dragons – Session 1: Reboot

We are going to be trying this once more! It’s been a long time so we’re not going to be continuing what I started previously- hence the title, but we are going to finish this adventure path. I’ve been doing some thinking on how I want this to run as well- and I’m going to try and limit each session to about one encounter. Hopefully that makes these posts shorter and quicker to pump out.

We’re going with a newly built Warforged Paladin that I built using a 27-point array. Below is a nice little statblock for them:

I’ve also gone ahead given them the Soldier background and rolled for their personality, ideals, bonds and flaws.

Personality: I’m full of inspiring and cautionary tales from my military experience relevant to almost every combat situation.
Ideals: Responsibility. I do what I must and obey just authority.
Bonds: My honour is my life.
Flaws: I feel little respect for anyone who is not a proven warrior.

From those I’m picturing this character to have been built by an ancient group of crusaders. They were tasked with by their god to essentially go to war, so they constructed masses of warforged to fight for them. Pro Unit 7 was one of the guard units built- and primarily served as protection for the medics and healers of the army. During a battle they were hit by some sort of spell that shut them down and the army simply left them on the ground. The years passed by and eventually the unit was buried and forgotten. Hundreds of years later the town that was built on top of them- Greenest- was attacked by a dragon and it’s cult. This reawakened Pro Unit 7 and they instantly went to fight back these invaders.

That’s my backstory for them- which will hopefully be expanded upon, we’ll have to see.

Alright! Let’s start.

Boxed Text:

“For the past several days, you have been traveling a road that winds lazily across the rolling grasslands of the Greenfields. Sundown is approaching when you top a rise and see the town of Greenest just a few short miles away. But instead of the pleasant, welcoming town you expected, you see columns of black smoke rising from burning buildings, running figures that are little more than dots a this distance and a dark, winged shape wheeling low over the keep that rises above the centre of the town. Greenest is being attacked by a dragon!

Without warning, five humans dash out from between two buildings on your left. A limping man and three young children race across the street into more shadows, and a woman carrying a round shield and a broken spear turns and faces back in the direction from which they came. Eight kobolds stream out of the alley on the family’s heel and fan out around the women who looks determined to delay the creatures for as long as possible.”

We’re back to this- Edvon (the previous character I tried to run through this) died in the first round of combat for this encounter, but hopefully the new and improved Protection Unit 7 will be able to make an attempt at beating these Kobolds… if he does die- we’ll have to do a little cheating- that or time travel.

Encounter 001 (Seek the Keep):

Initiative Order:

  1. Kobold 1
  2. Kobold 2
  3. Kobold 3
  4. Kobold 4
  5. Kobold 5
  6. Linan
  7. Kobold 6
  8. Kobold 7
  9. Kobold 8
  10. Cuth + Children
  11. Protection Unit 7

Map:

 

Well fuck me. This is not going to go well. We’re going to start with the eight kobolds on the west side of the map- Cuth and Linan with their Children will be on the east up against the L-shaped building. Protection Unit 7 will start off in the alleyway between the two buildings on the southside.

Top of the initiative order and the first two kobolds are going to head up to where Linan is and take swings. The second gets the trigger of their Pack Tactics ability. She’s so totally dead. We get a 21 for the first attack, and a 23 for the second. That’s a grand total of 10 damage, as we know Linan only has eight points- so she drops dead.

BOOT START. DOWNTIME: 4531dsf7fd- ERROR: time value exceeded.
Initiating start up process.
Optical receptors activated.
Aggressive targets found. Civilian casualties imminent.
Full boot process cancelled.
Quick start initiating.

There wasn’t a moment of hesitation as I quickly raise my spear towards the horde of kobolds in front of me. I look back towards Cuth- he has our children behind him in a protective huddle. The kobolds in front of me shout something and I snap my vision back towards them- two of them have broken off and rush towards me. I try and bring my spear up to ward them off but the lead kobold grabs the shaft and pulls it from my hands. Before I can react I feel a sharp hot fire in my stomach and I look down in horror to see the kobolds dagger there. My hands fly down to it as it’s pulled from my body, I fall to my knees and look back to Cuth. His mouth is wide open- but no sound comes from it. There’s another pain as I fall forwards onto the ground.

So- yeah, this is not going well so far. The next three will move up behind the first two and all use their slings to fire rocks at Cuth. We get a nat 1, 11 and another 11. So one miss and two just above his AC. For a total of 11 damage. Cuth joins his wife as he too drops dead.

I feel myself screaming as the kobolds rip into Linan. She falls to the ground a puddle of blood soon appearing underneath her. I can hear crying- and I numbly realize that it’s from my own children. The smell of smoke fills my head as I look wildly for someplace to run- the burning buildings offer no shelter an- a rock lands at my feet and I look up to see three kobolds behind my wife’s body. Two of them are spinning slings…

Great- just great. There are three children- and three remaining kobolds. They are all going to move up and then launch rocks towards a child. I’m treating the children as standard commoners HP wise- so they probably won’t survive this.We get a 6, 12 and a 9. Only Kobold 7 hits for 5 damage. That kills the child he hit. No blurb for them as they aren’t a named character.

Okay so now we have the children’s turn! They are all going to run south and try to make it through the gap between the two buildings. They have a speed of 30 so they can make it 6 squares. Finally we have Protection Unit 7!

He’s going to rush to where Linan was and then use his action to roll an intimidate check on all the kobolds. Now there’s not a really a roll for this- but I’m going to do a contested skill check between PU7 and the kobolds. The kobolds will roll a WIS saving throw and if they fail they’ll be Frightened. First up the skill roll: 19! Now since the kobolds have a minus two wisdom modifier there is no way for them to beat a 19, so we don’t need to roll them to know that all the kobolds are now Frightened! That brings us to the end of the round.

And what a sad round it was… now  all the kobolds are going to attack PU7… they do suffer disadvantage however because of the Frightened effect. Which is cancelled out by their pack tactics ability- so they simply get to roll as normal. First two attacks will be daggers, the next six will be slings. The children will also continue running away to leave PU7 (if they survive) to fight off these kobolds themselves, what little dicks.

We get a 10, 13, nat 20, nat 1, 11, 22, 22, and a 14. PU7 has an AC of 19 so we get three hits, with one crit. Rolling for damage we get: 4, 5 and 3 damage. Wow three nat 1s there, pretty lucky. Though the total damage of 12 brings PU7 to one hit point… yeah I think we’re not going to get past this encounter. Unless we retreat of course. Since the targets are still Frightened, if we take a disengage action- we can retreat north past the buildings and the kobolds will be unable to give chase… essentially ending the combat. It’s a giant cop out- but it’s pretty much the only way I can see us surviving.

So our first encounter ends with our hero at a single hit point and fleeing after letting civilians die a horrible horrible death. So- looking like this is going to be a great adventure so far.

<< Previous SessionTable of ContentsNext Session >>

Leave a Reply

